Good Friday - Hottest New Releases #6

Good Friday: the feature series that shines a light on the hottest new releases from around Australia. Make sure you check out all the artists that featured in our sixth edition!

1.     ‘Welcome and Good Luck (Waggle)’ - The Great Emu War Casualties 


The quirky, eclectic and eccentric vibes of The Great Emu War Casualties have returned in their new single, ‘Welcome and Good Luck (Waggle)’.

They’ve already headlined Oxford Arts Factory and The Factory Theatre in Sydney, hosted residencies at The Evelyn and The Tote in Melbourne, and released three EPs in 2018. Now, they plan to release three singles this year.

The relentless gigging has paid off for the group, as the concoction of sounds within the song maintain a refined finesse throughout.

Influenced by the likes of Talking Heads, The Killers, and Unknown Mortal Orchestra to name a few, the summer sound of ‘Welcome and Good Luck (Waggle)’ introduces a hugely unexpected serving of nostalgia for the listener. 

Drawing similar sounds to Arctic Monkeys and Two Door Cinema Club, the track is a great example of how to create a classic bright, indie-pop tune in 2019 that maintains its catchiness throughout.  

Frontman Joe, bassist Saskia, guitarist Maxi, and drummer Bibek have hit the nail on the head this time, and we are very excited to hear the remainder of their 2019 singles.

 2.     ‘Hollow’ – Akurei

Akurei has given us another taste of his upcoming second EP with a new single, ‘Hollow’.

The beautifully sweet sounds of the track exhibit some differences from his previous releases, specifically in the way it holds its restraint throughout whilst subtly intensifying.

Paired with an acoustic melody, Akurei’s flawless vocals demonstrate an impressive opening. The hauntingly alluring soundscape of the tune is strengthened by the artist’s application of R&B inspired beats, raspy synths, and heavy bass lines. Moreover, the minimalistic instrumentation within the song enables a floating melody to magnetise the listener.

As the last song the musician wrote while overseas, ‘Hollow’ takes the listener on an intricately woven, emotionally intense journey.

“‘Hollow’ is me revisiting and reevaluating the faith I had when I was younger,” says Akurei.

The bold confidence heard within ‘Hollow’ suggests Akurei is only just getting started. Watch this space.

3.     ‘Forget’ – Luboku

Luboku Press Shot - credit Aneta Urbonaite.jpg

Melbourne-based producer/singer-songwriter Luboku AKA Luis Kennett brings a warm sound on his new effervescent single, ‘Forget’.

Known for his dark and melancholic style, Luboku has perfectly executed a sophisticated piece of driving electronica through the use of vivid instrumental flourishes, rolling beats and wistful vocals.

Luboku describes ‘Forget’ as pushing his trademark electronic elements toward a more acoustic space.

He adds: “It's about anxiety and fear, which I find to be recurring obstacles… I like the analogy of throwing your thoughts into the waves of the ocean, letting them pass, and hopefully gaining some clarity through that process"  

The dizzyingly honest subject matter substantiates why he is one to watch in the local electronic scene.

Luboku has recently announced he will be joining the huge BIGSOUND lineup and will go on a national run of shows with LEISURE after. This multifaceted artist is set to soar, with many more exciting releases scheduled for later this year. Stream ‘Forget’ now.

4.     ‘Ruin’ – Vermont 


Alternative rock/emo four-piece Vermont have released new single ‘Ruin’, describing the feeling of personal dissatisfaction.

Frontman Joshua Swanwick explains: "[The song describes] an inability to be satisfied with who you are”.

Whether the dissatisfaction stems from internal or external expectations, the dark subject matter paired with angsty vocals create a thumping rock song. Additionally, the Melbourne group feature a melodic backbone, distorted guitar tones and a catchy chorus to grab the listener’s attention.

Forming in late 2017, Joshua Swanwick (vocals), Jono Hnatejko (guitarist), Nathan Borg (bassist) and Curtly Lyon (drummer) strive to produce music that they love and have already left their mark on Melbourne’s local music scene.

If exploring the melancholic themes of relationships, heartbreak, pain, and inner demons isn’t enough, the overwhelming aura of emotion heard within Vermont’s sound will be sure to get you in a reflective mood. 

Vermont, the band well beyond their years, have undoubtedly smashed it with ‘Ruin’. Have a listen to the tune before their EP releases later this year!

 5.     ‘Figureheads’ – The Motion Below


Yet another Melbourne band, The Motion Below, have made the Good Friday cut with their ferocious new single ‘Figureheads’. 

The quartet know exactly how to create a post-hardcore banger through blending raw vocals with melodic cleans to punctuate the aggressive feel. 

The track, produced, mixed and mastered at The Loud Noise Estate, is a frenetic exposition about fitting in.

Vocalist Thomas Katgert explains: “[The character from the lyrics] has spent much time alienated from involving themselves in things they’re interested in due to the ostracism of their peers”.

Most of the band’s recent and upcoming tracks explore the past traumas from toxic friendships, displacement in society and finally death and abuse.

Katgert adds: "The subject pleads with their loved ones to keep away, as the man now believes that he is beyond saving and wishes to protect those around him from his misery." 

The Motion Below have announced they’ll be supporting alongside ATLVS and Visioner for BLKLST on the Spider Love EP launch show on Saturday, August 17 2019. Get around it!